Rahu ketu report

According to ancient Hindu belief, Rahu is represented as a snake demon that swallows the sun or the moon causing the solar and lunar eclipses, and is visually represented by a demon with no body riding a chariot drawn by eight black horses. Vedic astrology considers Rahu as an ‘asura’ or demon and is associated with a tendency to create chaos, confusion, and cruelty. Rahu is often linked to the uncontrolled desire for worldly desire and material gains, without knowledge and understanding. It is considered to be one of the navagrahas (nine planets) in Vedic astrology. The ‘Rahu kala’ (time of day influence by it) is considered inauspicious.
Rahu is usually believed to have a positive effect when related to Ketu, Saturn, Mercury and Venus. Its effects are usually negative when related to the Sun, Moon, Mars, and Jupiter. It is considered as ruler of three nakshatras (lunar mansions): Ardra(Gemini), Svati(Libra) and Shatabhisha(Aquarius).
Its element is air, direction is southwest, color is smoky, metal is lead, and its gemstone is honey colored hessonite.

Ketu is the descending lunar node and is believed to have a huge significance relating to human entities, and in certain situations may help a person achieve great fame. Ketu is symbolized with a gem or star on his head which represents a mystical light energy. It is often related to a particular incarnation of Lord Vishnu. In an individual, ketu usually signifies a spiritual association and represents wisdom, insight and intelligence. Ketu is the ruler of three lunar mansions : Ashvini(Aries), Magha(Leo) and Mula(Saggitarius). It is associated with the element of earth; color is smoky, metal is lead and gemstone is cat's eye, the associated god is Ganesha.

Legend of Rahu Ketu

The ancient Hindu scriptures refer to a story that details how the gods and the demons once formed an alliance to produce a nectar or amrit that could give them immortality. According to legend, during the ‘Samudra manthan’ or the churning of the ocean, the asura Rahu, disguised as a god, sat between the Sun and the Moon in an attempt to procure the nectar. When he was exposed by the Sun and the Moon, Lord Vishnu immediately severed his head from his body, but not before he had already consumed some the nectar and had become immortal. As a result the demon is still said to exist today and it’s head of is referred to as Rahu and his tail is known as Ketu. This demon is said to seek vengeance on the Sun and Moon whenever they come near, resulting in the solar and lunar eclipse.
The celestial journeys of the sun and the moon are projected in the shape of 2 giant ellipses. While sun’s makes a complete revolution in one year, the path of the moon is completed in about one month. The moon passes the sun at least once in a month as it appears to move much more quickly since it is following a smaller path as it revolves around the earth.  The point when the moon passes the sun is called the ‘amavasya’ or new moon. Usually the moon’s path passes above or below the sun, but when the moon passes the sun at a point where their paths intersect, it results in the sun or the moon to be hidden from the earth’s view. This astronomical phenomenon is called as a solar or lunar eclipse. The places of intersection of the sun and moon are referred to as the north and south lunar nodes, or as they are referred to in Vedic Astrology, Rahu and Ketu.
In Vedic Astrology, Rahu and Ketu are considered to be important as they represent the points of intersection of the paths of the Sun and the Moon as they move on the celestial sphere. Therefore, Rahu and Ketu are respectively called the north and the south lunar nodes. The fact that the eclipses occur when the Sun and the Moon are at one of these points gives rise to the myth of the swallowing of the Sun and the Moon by the demon snake.

They have been accorded the status of Planets to emphasise their significance and the importance of eclipses on the birth chart. They are referred to as Chayya Grahas (shadow planets).


In order to understand the transits of rahu ketu, we have to look at the planets they conjoin with during their transit, the most affected being the Sun and Moon. This may cause unpredictable transformations to people whose ruling planets are affected. The transit of Rahu Ketu gives an understanding to the rapid changes that may occur during such a transit.  Rahu Ketu transit direction is normally at a variance to the motion of the other planets. They can cause upheaval in your life, your emotions, transform various aspects of your life. Their influences may be understood better after a deeper study of the eclipses. If an eclipse occurs within 1to 2 degrees of your ruling planets this could indicate the potential for a major change in your life, which could be revealed over a period of time.  The transit of Rahu Ketu also needs to be seen through their Dashas or planetary cycles in order to be fully understood. They are each assigned a Mahadasha - Rahu has an 18 year period and Ketu a 7 years period. They may also exert great influence on the sub- periods in the cycles of other planets.

Rahu ketu are considered most important planets after Jupiter and Saturn and require the maximum attention when they are in transit. The rahu ketu effects depend on how we are able respond to the prevailing circumstances. Rahu has a positive side, offering great boons in communications, new inventions, technology etc. Rahu is extroverted, affirming, and ambitious, while Ketu is introverted, negating and detached. Rahu's transits show where someone is likely to expand, driven, try new things and disperse their energy into materialistic pursuits. Ketu's transits show where someone is likely to experience restriction, detachment, completion or focus and deepen their spiritual pursuits. If both the running period & transit effects are bad, the overall outcome is likely to be bad.
Therefore, you can reduce the malefic effects by performing remedies. For rahu ketu transit predictions, get a free report from our experts on rahu ketu astrology.

Gender :
First Name :
Last Name :
Date of Birth : (Example- yyyy-mm-dd)
Country :
Email :
Phone :
Your question :